Feathers Everywhere

Feathers, Feathers Everywhere! Seems like the fashion trend of feathers will be in styles again in 2013. Being that I love feather jewelry, when I saw these feather pendants from Blue Moom Bead I knew they would be in my jewelry wardrobe.

The first necklace uses the Black & Silver Blue Moon Bead feather pendant. My newest technique that I learned in a class last September is Kumihimo (for those of you not familiar, this is the ancient art of Japanese board braiding). It is so much fun and very easy and once you incorporate beads it takes on a life of its own.

BMB Kumihimo feather necklacep>

When I found the black tinsel/bead cord and white silk rattail I knew it was waiting for me to braid it. Once braided I added the end caps, jump rings and the black cable chain, clasp and attached the black/silver feather pendant. Quick simple project that took about 90 minutes to make.

032

For this necklace the Blue Moon Bead Feather Pendant became the focal point for this asymeterical necklace. With jumprings I attached a small silver and a black chain to the top of the feather pendant and added a decorative chain to the other side with a jump ring. Using more Blue Moon Beads in a clear and Smoky color and gunmetal spacers strung and attached to the feather pendant and then attached more of the silver and black small chain, added a loster claw clasp. But that was just not enough for me, I had to add a few dangles of chain with the clear and smoky beads. Ta dah that was just the finishing touch the necklace needed.

Fun, new feathery designs for 2013.

3 thoughts on “Feathers Everywhere

  1. Ah. I still haven’t tried kumihimo – it’s very popular with the ladies that visit The Bead Shop Liverpool. I keep eyeing the kits, so maybe I’ll have to try it. Especially as yours looks so funky.

    • It is super easy, I learned from Ann Dilker with Bead Smith last September at JTV/Jewel School. She has YouTube tutorials and it is exactly as she teaches it. Just enter Bead Smith in the YouTube search.

Leave a Reply

