Looms, Beads and Sparkle Oh My!

Loom

023

Not being a woman who is known for her patience I have always shied away from working with those tiny little seed beads. That is until I found the Beadalon Jewel Loom designed by Julianna Hudgins. Truth be told I have never used a bead loom and was a little intimidated at first. Turns out this is the easiest tool I have every used. I was amazed at how incredibly simple the loom is to use. Once you try it you to will be hooked.

For my first project I gathered my Blue Moon Bead Jet Black Bugle beads and strung those on the loom for the base of the bracelet. Then using Blue Moon Light Blue Turquoise 6/0 beads, Jet 10/0 seed beads and Blue Moon Bead Global Nomad line Opaque Turquoise 10/0 seed beads and made a beautiful bracelet, with loops, fringe and lots of movement.
ring 2

For the second project I made my Mermaid Ring.
Using more Blue Moon Bead seed beads in Light Blue size 10/0. for the base of the ring. Layed out 11 warp threads, added 10 blue seed beads and strung 3 1/4″ of beads. Attached a blue/green foil bead, with teal blue swarovski crystals to the center of the base. Then attached alternating loops of blue and green seed beads around the center beads. Removed this from the Beadalon Jewel Loom and joined the ends to form the ring.
Each project took less than 2 hours and I love the results. Fun and unique jewelry pieces to wow all you friends with.

You can find a tutorial on YouTube done by Julianna Hudgins on how to use the Beadalon Jewel Loom.

One thought on “Looms, Beads and Sparkle Oh My!

  1. Ooh. I’ve never tried beadweaving with a loom, but I do make a lot of jewellery with off-loom techniques. Will have to put this on my ‘to-try’ list!

Leave a comment